Lord Jim O'Neill

Crossbencher, House of Lords

Jim O Neill giving a speech

Since stepping down as commercial secretary to Her Majesty's Treasury in September 2016, Jim has become a cross-bencher in the House of Lords. Jim chaired the Cities Growth Commission in the UK, which formed the basis for the government’s approach to devolution, and the concept of the Northern Powerhouse. He is now vice-chair of the Northern Powerhouse Partnership, and honorary chair of economics at Manchester University. He has also become a Distinguished Visiting Fellow to Chatham House. Jim chaired an independent review of Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR), as well as providing key input to the United Nations' high-level agreement in 2016. Jim worked for Goldman Sachs from 1995–2013, mostly as chief economist. He is a board member and a founding trustee of the UK educational charity, SHINE (Support & Help in Education). Jim has also served on the boards of many educational foundations.

  • Jo Miller

    Jo Miller

    Chief Executive Officer, Doncaster Council

  • George Clarke

    George Clarke

    Architect and television presenter

  • Dr Faiza Shaheen

    Dr Faiza Shaheen

    Director, Centre for Labour and Social Studies (CLASS)

  • Edward Daffarn

    Edward Daffarn

    Grenfell United and co-author of Grenfell Action Group blog

  • Gavin Kelly

    Gavin Kelly

    Chief Executive, Resolution Trust, and chair, Living Wage Commission

  • Baroness Sayeeda Warsi

    Baroness Sayeeda Warsi

    Former co-chair of the Conservative Party and author of The Enemy Within: A Tale of Muslim Britain

  • Miatta Fahnbulleh

    Miatta Fahnbulleh

    Chief Executive, New Economics Foundation (NEF)

  • Rt. Hon Ed Miliband

    Rt. Hon Ed Miliband

    MP, Doncaster North

  • Samia Badani

    Samia Badani

    Co-Chair of the Notting Dale Residents Advisory Board

  • Rob Gershon

    Rob Gershon

    Social housing tenant, activist, and Housing Quality Network’s (HQN) Residents’ Network Lead Associate

  • Reverend Dr Mike Long

    Reverend Dr Mike Long

    Commission chair and Minister of the Notting Hill Methodist Church

  • Ryan Shorthouse

    Ryan Shorthouse

    Director, Bright Blue

  • Raji Hunjan

    Raji Hunjan

    Chief Executive, Zacchaeus 2000 Trust

  • David Tovey

    David Tovey

    Artist, educator and activist

  • Baroness Doreen Lawrence

    Baroness Doreen Lawrence

    Founder, Stephen Lawrence Charitable Trust (SLCT)