This page is targeted at housing professionals. Our main site is at

Different types of tenancy

This content applies to England

This section looks at the different types of tenancy available to private registered provider of social housing (PRPSH), formerly known as registered social landlord (RSL), tenants.

Identifying the type of tenancy

The factors determining the type of tenancy a PRPSH can grant. 

Secure tenancies

About secure PRPSH tenancies. 

Assured tenants and ASTs

Explaining assured and assured shorthold tenancies. 

Starter tenancies

PRPSH starter tenancies. 

Demoted tenancies

PRPSH demoted tenancies. 

Family intervention tenancies

The Housing and Regeneration Act 2008 gave PRPSHs the power to create family intervention tenancies with effect from 1 January 2009. 

Back to top