Skip to main content
Shelter Logo
England

Introduction to eligibility for housing assistance

Get an overview of housing and homelessness eligibility rules for British nationals, EEA nationals, or people from outside the UK or EEA.

Who can join this free webinar

This webinar is available free to eligible organisations only.

Funded by the UK Government's Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities.

Find out more about how our work is funded.

Course information

Level: Entry (Level 1)

Live webinar

  • Available for: Individuals, groups
  • Duration: Ninety minutes
  • CPD points: 1.5

Individual bookings

DateDuration and timeDelivery and locationCost
Eligibility and discounts
Book
Booking guidance
Thursday 15 August 2024Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleFully booked
Thursday 05 September 2024Ninety minutes 10:30am – 12pmWebinarFree if eligibleFully booked
Tuesday 17 September 2024Ninety minutes 10:30am – 12pmWebinarFree if eligibleFully booked
Tuesday 24 September 2024Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleFully booked
Tuesday 08 October 2024Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Monday 21 October 2024Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Tuesday 05 November 2024Ninety minutes 10:30am – 12pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Tuesday 12 November 2024Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Monday 25 November 2024Ninety minutes 10:30am – 12pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Tuesday 03 December 2024Ninety minutes 2pm – 3:30pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Tuesday 17 December 2024Ninety minutes 10:30am – 12pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Monday 06 January 2025Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Wednesday 22 January 2025Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Tuesday 04 February 2025Ninety minutes 2pm – 3:30pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Wednesday 12 February 2025Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Friday 21 February 2025Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Tuesday 04 March 2025Ninety minutes 11am – 12:30pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Friday 14 March 2025Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Thursday 27 March 2025Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleBook

Group bookings

You can book this course for groups.

Contact us about group bookings

What this webinar covers

This course includes:

  • the legal framework that regulates rights to social housing and homelessness assistance

  • who is and who is not subject to immigration control

  • what is the habitual residence test and how it works

  • an outline of eligibility for EEA nationals

Who this training is for

You don't need any prior knowledge of eligibility in homelessness applications for this course.

You might work as adviser or for a local authority in housing or homelessness. This course is also suitable if you don't specialise in housing but need to know the basics.

Continuing Professional Development

Gain points towards your professional development from the CPD Certification Service with Shelter training and events.

CPD Certification logo