Skip to main content
Shelter Logo
England

Understanding homelessness and housing: local authority duties

Get an overview of local authority homelessness duties, including the prevention, relief and main housing duties.

Who can join this free webinar

This webinar is available free to eligible organisations only.

Funded by the UK Government's Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities.

Find out more about how our work is funded.

Course information

Level: Entry (Level 1)

Live webinar

  • Available for: Individuals, groups
  • Duration: Ninety minutes
  • CPD points: 1.5

Individual bookings

DateDuration and timeDelivery and locationCost
Eligibility and discounts
Book
Booking guidance
Thursday 25 July 2024Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleFully booked
Tuesday 30 July 2024Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleFully booked
Monday 05 August 2024Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleFully booked
Wednesday 14 August 2024Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleFully booked
Tuesday 27 August 2024Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleFully booked
Tuesday 03 September 2024Ninety minutes 3pm – 4:30pmWebinarFree if eligibleFully booked
Tuesday 10 September 2024Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleFully booked
Monday 16 September 2024Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleFully booked
Thursday 19 September 2024Ninety minutes 11am – 12:30pmWebinarFree if eligibleFully booked
Thursday 26 September 2024Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleFully booked
Wednesday 02 October 2024Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleFully booked
Wednesday 09 October 2024Ninety minutes 11am – 12:30pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Tuesday 15 October 2024Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Tuesday 22 October 2024Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Tuesday 29 October 2024Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Monday 04 November 2024Ninety minutes 3pm – 4:30pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Monday 11 November 2024Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Thursday 14 November 2024Ninety minutes 10:30am – 12pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Wednesday 20 November 2024Ninety minutes 10:30am – 12pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Wednesday 27 November 2024Ninety minutes 3pm – 4:30pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Monday 02 December 2024Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Wednesday 11 December 2024Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Friday 20 December 2024Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Thursday 02 January 2025Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Thursday 09 January 2025Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Tuesday 21 January 2025Ninety minutes 10:30am – 12pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Wednesday 29 January 2025Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Friday 07 February 2025Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Wednesday 19 February 2025Ninety minutes 10am – 11:30amWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Wednesday 19 February 2025Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Thursday 20 February 2025Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Monday 03 March 2025Ninety minutes 10:30am – 12pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Monday 10 March 2025Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Friday 14 March 2025Ninety minutes 2:30pm – 4pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Wednesday 19 March 2025Ninety minutes 10:30am – 12pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook
Thursday 27 March 2025Ninety minutes 3pm – 4:30pmWebinarFree if eligibleBook

Group bookings

You can book this course for groups.

Contact us about group bookings

What this webinar covers

This course includes:

  • what duties a local authority might owe to a homeless applicant

  • the five tests of homelessness, including priority need and eligibility

  • when accommodation duties are triggered and what this means

Who this training is for

You don't need any prior knowledge of homelessness applications for this course.

You might be new to a role as an adviser or work for a local authority in housing or homelessness. This course is also suitable if you don't specialise in housing but need to know the basics.

Continuing Professional Development

Gain points towards your professional development from the CPD Certification Service with Shelter training and events.

CPD Certification logo