This page is targeted at housing professionals. Our main site is at

Local authority duties and powers under HHSRS

This content applies to England & Wales

Local authorities' duties and powers to inspect rented housing and enforce repair and improvement works. The Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS) that was introduced by the Housing Act 2004 and came into force on 6 April 2006, replacing the fitness standard and enforcement action under the Housing Act 1985.

What is the HHSRS

The Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS), including its underlying principles and terminology. 

How HHSRS defines hazards

Hazards as assessed and categorised by the Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS). The 29 categories of hazards used by the system. 

Local authority duties to inspect and assess

Local authorities' duty to inspect properties in their area. The inspection process, the outcome of an inspection, and how hazards identified in an inspection are assessed. 

Local authority HHSRS powers and duties

Local authorities' powers to deal with a hazard. 

Local authority HHSRS actions

Local authorities' options for enforcement action to deal with a hazard. 

Improvement of housing conditions

Other powers local authorities have with regard to improving and maintaining housing conditions in their area, namely the power to declare Renewal Areas and to offer financial assistance. 

Back to top